don’t pray for me…

on

Please don’t pray for me,

It doesn’t show you care.

Please don’t pray for me,

Anytime or anywhere.

. . .

Don’t ask for me to stay nearby,

Or for my travels faraway.

Don’t ask that I’ll be who you want me to be.

My insides are starting to fray.

. . .

Stop telling God that you know best.

Stop telling him you’re more wise. 

Your passive “cares” are going nowhere,

To me they’re only lies.

. . .

I’m transforming into a better me,

And it’s not your prize to take.

I’m grateful to the universe,

As for direction, I won’t sway.

. . .

‘I prayed for this’ you tell me proudly,

‘Or this Scripture brought your name to mind.’

You didn’t listen or see my cringe,

As a new loving acceptance I did find. 

. . .

I don’t want to be who you want me to be,

Or live as you desire.

I’m done with all that people-pleasing.

My former self now ashes in the fire. 

. . .

Stop praying for me, I plead, I pray. 

Stop asking for your way.

Cease fire on my weary soul.

Your prayers won’t take my freedom away. 

. . .

I will admit what I know is true,

For I’m guilty of this too.

I’m sorry for my selfish ways.

I’m sorry that I prayed for you. 

Are your prayers/intentions lifting others up, or are you using them to get your way?

Leave a comment